Posted On



Rankings, Awards, & Honors

Emmanuel women's basketball Head Coach Andy Yosinoff is one step closer to the pinnacle of college basketball coaching after being placed on the voting ballot for enshrinement in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame, as announced on Thursday, Dec. 21.

Yosinoff is a first-time nominee to the Naismith Hall of Fame ballot and joins 11 others under the Women's nominee's category. The veteran of 47 years on the Emmanuel sidelines is one of 152 nominees eligible for the Naismith Hall of Fame in 2024 across the categories of North American nominee, Women's nominee, Contributors nominee, International nominee, Women's Veteran nominee, and Veteran nominee's.

"I was sent a picture of the nominees and that's how actually I found out and I still sometimes can't believe it," said Yosinoff. "I was shocked by the nomination. I never thought a Division I men's tennis player from Rhode Island would become a basketball coach, let alone one that would ever be considered for a prestigious Hall of Fame like the Naismith."

Over his illustrious career, Yosinoff is one of 10 coaches in NCAA Women's Basketball Coaching history, among all divisions, with at least 900 career wins and currently sits eighth all-time on the list with 905 victories. He is the winningest women's basketball coach in Division III history and is third across all NCAA divisions in active wins as a women's basketball head coach, trailing a pair of Naismith Hall of Famers in Tara VanDerveer and Geno Auriemma.

Yosinoff started his career in 1977 and in the 47 seasons to follow, his career record of 905-301 has him at a .750 winning percentage. Over the span, Yosinoff and the Saints have only finished a season with a below .500 record twice; his first season in 1977-78 and only again in 1997-98.

"I thought back to when I started in 1977 with a tiny gym and five players and how things have evolved in the 46 years since," said Yosinoff. "I only wish my father was still alive to hear about this. It's a tremendous honor for me and Emmanuel College for consideration into the Naismith Hall of Fame," an emotional Yosinoff added.

Coach Yosinoff's nomination to the eligibility list came with the Saints in Puerto Rico for the 2023 edition of the Puerto Rico Clasico. The news slowly spread through the coaching staff before the announcement was made to the team at dinner on Thursday night.

"The other coaches, especially Meghan Kirwan (a former player for Yosinoff from 2008-2012), were more excited than I was," said Yosinoff. "We told the team over dinner last night and they were just as caught off guard and so excited for me. My assistants were just as excited for me since they've been a part of this."

On the lengthy list of accomplishments in the career of Yosinoff, he was elected to the New England Basketball Hall of Fame in 2003, the Great Northeast Athletic Conference (GNAC) Hall of Fame in 2010, and the University of Rhode Island Hall of Fame in 2013.

He was the Jewish Coaches Association recipient of the Red Auerbach Coach of the Year Award and the Division III Northeast Coach of the Year in 2012, after guiding the Saints to the Elite Eight the previous season. His Saints teams have made 21 appearances in the NCAA Tournament, including three trips to the Sweet Sixteen, two trips to the Elite Eight, and the 2000-01 appearance in the Final Four. Yosinoff and the Saints have added 18 conference championships since joining the GNAC in 1995.

"I've been lucky enough to be named to other Hall of Fames in my career, but this honor is the pinnacle of coaching in college basketball," said Yosinoff. "This would mean so much to me because in my mind, this is the peak of coaching and achievement for college basketball. It would be beyond belief if I were to be nominated for the Naismith Hall of Fame."

Finalists for enshrinement in the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame Class of 2024 will be announced on Friday, Feb. 16, in Indianapolis, Ind., during the NBA All-Star Weekend.

The finalists will then be cut down to the list of Hall of Fame inductees and announced on Saturday, April 6, at the NCAA Final Four in Phoenix, Ariz., in a nationally televised broadcast. The time and network for this announcement is yet to be determined.