The Curriculum

Domains of Knowledge

Students are required to take a breadth of courses that allows them to develop the wide-ranging knowledge that makes possible engagement with and curiosity about significant knowledge, ideas and issues.

Domains of Knowledge (maximum 44 credits)

The knowledge, skills and habits of the mind developed through the study of the liberal arts disciplines and their respective methodsof inquiry, their concepts and vocabulary, their creative and critical processes, and their contributions to human knowledge are basic to the goal of developing the intellectual, aesthetic and moral sensibility assumed in a person liberally educated for life: 

  1. Aesthetic Inquiry (AI-L; AI-A)
  2. Historical Consciousness (H)
  3. Social Analysis (SA)
  4. Scientific Inquiry and Quantitative Analysis (SI; SI-L; QA)
  5. Religious Thought and Moral Reasoning (R; M)

Courses that fulfill these requirements are marked with the abbreviations noted in parentheses in the course descriptions section of the Academic Catalog.