In Memoriam | Christine Jaworek-Lopes

Faculty Excellence in Service Award Established in Honor of Jaworek-Lopes

Christine Jaworek-LopesAssociate Professor of Chemistry Christine Jaworek-Lopes died on May 21, 2016, following a courageous struggle with cancer. On the recommendation of her colleagues in the Department of Chemistry and Physics, the College established the Faculty Excellence in Service to the Community Award, of which she was the first recipient. The award annually recognizes a faculty member whose actions embody the commitment to service that is at the core of Emmanuel's mission and that Dr. Jaworek-Lopes exemplified throughout her tenure at the College.  

At Emmanuel, where she joined the faculty in 2000, Jaworek-Lopes derived particular joy from teaching and mentoring students, chemistry and non-chemistry majors alike. These connections flourished in and out of the classroom through her work with the Chemistry Club and the Science Living-Learning Community. Jaworek- Lopes played a vital part in the transformative changes that Emmanuel's programs in the sciences have undergone over the last decade and a half.

We pray for the following alumni who passed away between March 1, 2016, and September 1, 2016.

Memorial Masses honoring recently deceased alumni are held quarterly in the Emmanuel College Chapel. Upcoming Memorial Masses are scheduled for December 18, 2016; March 16, 2017; and May 18, 2017, at 11:45 a.m. If you know of the passing of an alumnus/a, please advise the alumni office at or 617-975-9400.

Eileen Sullivan Mayhew '37
Mary O'Donnell Konetzny '42
Joan F. McAuliffe '43
Kathleen Quill '45
Helen Mellyn Terpstra '45
Sister Margaret M. Lynch, SND '45, '71
Anne Antonellis Ward '45
Claire Condell Meuse '46
Catherine Lemmon Ogar '46
Josephine Dolan Reney '46
Ann McCarthy Shea '46
Dorothy Tobin Staffier '46
Doris A. Valente '46
Elinor Murray O'Brien '48
Ruth M. Thompson '48
Marie Hughes Mayne '49
Margaret Lane Brady '50
Joanne McLaughlin Fichera '50
Marie T. Maher '51
Dorothy Pemberton Sullivan '51
Helen Docherty '53
Grace LaFauci Taylor '55
Sister Margaret R. Elliot, SND '56
Barbara Burke Gallagher '56
Carol Wright Ellsworth '57
Joan Carroll '58
M. Barbara Mitchell Hynes '58
Barbara Plociennik Agostinelli '59
Marion McNamara Gotta '59
Joan McMorrow Crowley '60
Andrea Stone Clark '61
Sister Maureen Madden, SND '62
Sister Mary P. Mahoney, SND '62
Sister Margaret J. Crosby, SND '63
Ann Johnson Burke '65
Ann Grady Dockstader '66
Mary Reilly MacNeil '70
Sister Martha Keenan, SND '71
Bruce Corcoran GPP '14
Matthew J. Dillon '16