News & Media

May 14, 2015

Commencement Events Celebrate Graduate + Professional Programs Students

During the week before Emmanuel's 93rd Commencement Exercises, a special hooding ceremony honoring master's candidates and the annual Nursing Pinning and Recognition Ceremony were held in the College Chapel.

On Saturday, May 9th, Emmanuel College celebrated its 93rd Commencement Exercises on its campus. Archbishop of Boston Cardinal Seán P. O'Malley, OFM Cap. provided the Commencement address and received an honorary doctor of humane letters for his extraordinary leadership of the Archdiocese of Boston and for his efforts to advance the Catholic Church's global mission.

Earlier in the week, the Emmanuel held events honoring students in the College's Graduate and Professional Programs. On Wednesday, May 6th, the 104 students receiving master's degrees, including Master of Arts in Teaching, Master of Science in Human Resource Management, Master of Science in Management and Master of Science in Nursing, were given the opportunity to attend a special hooding ceremony with their classmates.

Assistant Professor of Nursing at Emmanuel College Helen Ahearn, M.S., RN addressed the students as the ceremony's guest speaker, and Krista Coleman '15, a candidate for the Master of Science in Management with a specialization in research administration, was the event's student speaker. The event was also attended by Coleman's grandmother, Eleanor (Mulcahy) Wessling, a 1947 graduate of the College.

On Thursday, May 7th, 48 students from the Bachelor of Science and Master of Science in Nursing programs were presented with pins by nursing faculty at the annual Nursing Pinning and Recognition Ceremony, which is a historical rite of passage into the nursing profession and a symbol of service to others.

Past president of the American Nurses Association (ANA) Karen A. Daley, Ph.D., MPH, RN was the ceremony's guest speaker, followed by was student speaker Karen Lewis Brownell, RN.

Associate Professor of Nursing and Chair of the Nursing Department Diane Arathuzik, Ph.D., RN, CNE presented departmental awards. Debra Foster Mayo, RN received the Clara Barton Service to Humanity Award; Katelyn Joy Greene, BSN, RN received the Diane Arathuzik Scholarship Award from MSN Class of 2014; and Elizabeth Curnane, RN, Carine Mathieu, RN and Kjerste Soderberg RN, received academic excellence awards.

Assistant Professor of Nursing Helen Ahearn, M.S., RN, was recognized by her fellow nursing faculty members for her 27 years of teaching at the College. The closing of this academic years marks the retirement of Ahearn, along with Associate Professor of Nursing and Chair of the Nursing Department Diane Arathuzik, Ph.D., RN, CNE, who has taught at Emmanuel for 15 years. Professor of Nursing Janice Bell Meisenhelder, DNSc, M.S., B.S. and Assistant Professor of Nursing Terri Jabaley, Ph.D., MSN, BSN celebrated the departure of the two longtime nursing faculty members with kind words and gifts.

The Pinning and Recognition Ceremony was dedicated to the memory of Nola Della-Monica, Ph.D., RN, Assistant Professor of Nursing at the College, who passed away in November 2014.